Staff, Directors + Volunteers


Derek C. LaCroix, Q.C. – Executive Director
Susan Burak– Associate Director
Matt Heemskerk– Associate Director
Bena Stock – Associate Director
Laurie Stewart – Office Administror

Board of Directors

John B. Arnesen Lindsay LLP, Vancouver
Robin N. McFee, Q.C. Sugden McFee & Roos LLP, Vancouver
David Paul, Q.C. Paul & Company, Kamloops
Ian W. Burroughs Kerfoot Burroughs LLP, Vancouver
Jaime D. Ashby North Shore Law LLP
Mark Tweedy Mediator & Arbitrator, Vancouver
Dawn M. Kuehn Family Law Practitioner, Kelowna
Kate Saunders Ministry of Justice, Victoria
Brian Daley Provincial Court Judge


LAPBC could not exist without the support of hundreds of volunteers from the BC legal community. These committed individuals allow LAPBC to continue its lifesaving mission – they are located throughout the province, they participate in training sessions and they share a deep conviction that the volunteer work they do makes a positive impact on both individuals and communities.